Board & Staff

adrian Moynes (Chairperson)

Adrian Moynes comes from Armagh.  He read English at Oxford, returned to teach in Armagh, and joined RTÉ in 1979.  There he worked as a producer in both radio and television before moving to administration.  He was Managing Director of Radio (2002-2009) and RTÉ Group Secretary (2009-2012).  Throughout his career he was associated with the European Broadcasting Union and served as Vice-President of its Radio Assembly.  From 2009-2012 he was a member of the board of Euronews.

In recent years he has contributed to the John O'Connor Writing School and Literary Festival in Armagh.  

He is married to the artist Ruth McDonnell.

shirley clerkin

Shirley Clerkin is from Monaghan and is the Heritage Officer with Monaghan County Council.  In her early career, she worked with environmental non-governmental organisations and was a director of Friends of the Earth Ireland.  She represented the Heritage Council on Comhar - the National Sustainable Development Partnership, and is currently representing Ireland on a European committee for Sustainable Cultural Heritage Tourism. She has studied environmental sciences, law, local government and public management.  Particularly interested in sustainability, biodiversity and cultural heritage, she contributes culture and environment articles for many publications including Irish Wildlife and The Village magazine.  She has recently presented a film documentary on gothic architecture in Monaghan. Many moons ago, she was a member of the RTE Philharmonic Choir.


Maureen Kennelly has been director of Poetry Ireland since October 2013.  She was Primary Curator with the Mountains to Sea DLR Book Festival for 2012 and 2013 and she was Programme Director of the Cúirt International Festival of Literature, Galway for 2009 and 2010. 

She was previously director of Kilkenny Arts Festival, artistic director of the Mermaid Arts Centre, Bray and she has also worked with Fishamble New Writing Theatre Company, Druid Theatre Company, The Arts Council and the Design and Crafts Council of Ireland. 

She was a member of the judging panel for the Irish Times Irish Theatre Awards for 2002 and 2006 and she chaired this panel in 2003. 

She was appointed to the Expert Advisory Committee of Culture Ireland in 2013 and she is a member of the governing body of UCC. 

A native of Ballylongford, Co Kerry, she is a graduate of the MA in Literature and Publishing from NUI Galway. 


Richard McBride is an independent legal consultant.  Having been born and brought up in Northern Ireland he read law at Trinity College, Dublin.  He has been admitted as a solicitor in England and Wales, Ireland and Northern Ireland and has worked with law firms in Belfast, Dublin, Frankfurt and London.  He has a keen interest in opera, being a member of the Board of Northern Ireland Opera.  He is also a patron of the Ulster Orchestra and a longstanding member of the Tate and the British Museum, as well as the Ulster Architectural Heritage Society and the Irish Legal History Society.  He has been a governor of Foyle College, Derry~Londonderry since 2017.

Maureen Mackin

Maureen Mackin is an independent consultant working in the cultural sector and based in Northern Ireland.  In her early career, she worked in the Linen Hall Library in Belfast and was later a Visual Arts Officer at the Arts Council of Northern Ireland.  She established her consultancy practice in 1995 and has carried out research, prepared strategies and managed a wide range of projects across the arts, heritage and cultural diversity fields.  She has worked for central government, local authorities, funding bodies, cultural organisations across the artforms and individual artists.  Maureen has served on many Boards and Committees.  She is a former Chair of Dance United Northern Ireland and a former Trustee of the Lyric Theatre, Belfast. 

Anne Makower

Anne Makower worked for many years in RTE as a TV Producer/ Director of many types of programme, but specializing in music, including live concerts, competitions, documentaries and operas. She has also directed operas in the theatre and has performed as actress and singer. She wrote a musical with Proinnsias Ó Duinn, 'Stuff and Nonsense', and has written scripts for plays, entertainments and her own lecture-recitals, as well as an opera libretto and poems for a song cycle by Derek Ball.  She was Chairman of the Dublin Youth Orchestras for twelve years and represented RTE on the European Broadcasting Union TV Music and Dance Committee.


Kim is Head of Art at the National Museums NI and she is currently a Director on the Board of Craft NI.  Throughout her career Kim has curated, juried and selected exhibitions, lectured and written about the history and development of museums and art curation, and the accessibility of art collections. 


Marie-Louise Muir is the main presenter of BBC Northern Ireland Arts coverage on radio and television. She presents an arts show on BBC Radio Ulster Tuesday-Thursday nights at 6.30pm-7pm and the monthly “The Arts Show” on BBC Northern Ireland Television.

She also writes and authors programmes for BBC Radio 4 including “Something Understood”, “Dinner at Annaghmakerrig” and “From Derry to Mostar”. She is currently working on new commissions for BBC Radio 4 and has just wrapped on a 3 part series for BBC Northern Ireland on hymns “Then Sings My Soul” to be broadcast in 2015.

She was the guest curator of the 2014 “On Home Ground – Celebrating Seamus Heaney” arts, poetry and music festival in Magherafelt, which attracted Gary Lightbody, Liam O’Flynn, and a host of poets, writers, musicians and artists to the small County Derry town.

She is a regular chair of arts and culture debates, comperes live events, conducts on-stage interviews in front of a live audience, and chairs panel discussions and audience question and answer sessions.

Marie-Louise studied English Literature at Trinity College Dublin. She is also a trained arts administrator, studying at University College Dublin.

Kevin V. Mulligan




Annaghmakerrig exists for the artists. But the heart of the House lies in the small staff, led by its Resident Director. Always friendly and efficient, it is they who maintain the family atmosphere, which is so appreciated by all the artists.

Robert McDonald, Director (resident)

Mary Clerkin, Admin Officer

Ingrid Adams, Manager

Lavina McAdoo, Chef

Teresa Rudden, Housekeeper

Esther Hall, Housekeeper

Mary-Alice Lynch, Housekeeper

Martina Beagan, Admin/Occasional Cook

Helen Sharpe, Part-time Cook

Sylvia Fawcett, Housekeeper

Joan Reilly, Housekeeper